Home / News & media website / Sport / Australia And The US To Host The Next Rugby World Cups


World Rugby announced on Thursday that Australia will host the 2027 edition while the United States will host it in 2031.

This will be the first time that the Unites States hosts the tournament.

“Today, we have approved three exceptional Rugby World Cup host nations – England, Australia and USA – providing unprecedented certainty and an unparalleled opportunity to accelerate the growth and impact of rugby globally. It is great for rugby, for fans and for the host nations,” World Rugby chairperson Bill Beaumont said in a statement.

The three countries who were in the running for the 2027 tournament were Australia, Argentina and Russia. Argentina pulled out a year after they launched their campaign which left Australia and Russia to battle it out.

With the current Russia and Ukraine situation, it was clear that Australia would win the bid. Australia last hosted the world in 2003. It was the year that England beat the Wallabies to claim the trophy.

The next tournament is to be held in France in 2023. South Africa will be there to defend their title as world champions.

Since losing out to France for the bid, South Africa has not put forward another bid.

At the same event, World Rugby also announced the hosts for the next three women’s Rugby World Cups.

The next tournament will be in 2025 and will be hosted by England, followed by Australia in 2029 and the United States in 2033.

The 2021 edition of the women’s Rugby World Cup never took place because of Covid19. It will be held in New Zealand this year.

Image credit: Inside The Games

Former Fidelity Guard Found Guilty
First Covid 19 Case Reported In North Korea
Space Hotel To Open In 2027
Shortage Of Baby Formula In The United States
‘Missing’ SA Couple Declared Safe In Fish River Canyon
High-Speed Trains Planned For South Africa
EasyJet Says Less Seats, Less Crew
Woman’s Charity Store Purchase Is 2 000 Years Old
AirBnB Staff To Work Remotely Forever