If you’re watching Netflix at home while someone else in another home is paying for the subscription, you could be in for a big shock.
The world’s largest streaming app is in the process of launching a feature that will ask users to verify that they’re allowed to use the specific account.
CNN reports that, when a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder. Users can also choose to verify later, in which case, the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time. If they can’t confirm they’re an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
With the streaming app reaching a record high level of subscribers in 2020, and it shares up almost 50% since this time last year thanks to lockdowns across the world, users have been sharing passwords to access the service more than ever.
While you might not be affected just yet, you could be in for a shocker once the feature is tested. Netflix hasn’t confirmed whether the test will be conducted worldwide or just one region for now.